Companies, using G Suite as their primary collaboration tool frequently use Google TeamDrives and My Drive for file storage. Obviously, TeamDrives is truly the cooperation tool, offering the access and cooperation by multiple users, unlike My Drive.
This distinction between who controls files on My Drive and Google TeamDrives has important implications for file management. For example, consider file deletion. A user can control when a file gets deleted from My Drive, since they are the owner of those files. But any member with full access can delete a file from a Team Drive. And when one member deletes a file from a Team Drive, all members of the Team Drive lose access to it. (source)
The easiest way to make sure that files are safely stored in TeamDrives is to modify the level of access to edit access for the majority of members. Edit access lets users to add files to TeamDrives and to modify the existing ones. More importantly, edit access removes the ability to move or delete files. Lower levels of access, such Comment access or View access restrict the potential for changes even further. (source)
Although the most efficient and safe way is UpSafe G Suite backup, that ensures not only TeamDrives backup but also emails, contacts and calendars backup, with 256-bit AES encryption and full HIPAA/GDPR compliance.
We work for your security.